Zoom: Tools for securing meetings

Important:
Report instances of Zoombombing to the University Information Security Office (UISO) as described in Report an incident.

Zoom: Securing your meetings

Updated 03-31-2020

Description of the video:

Due to recent trends involving uninvited meeting attendees compromising Zoom sessions,

you may want to consider securing meetings held in Zoom.

In this video, I'll cover some of the settings in Zoom that will help you create more secure Zoom sessions.

One way of securing your sessions involves requiring all participants to be logged into their Zoom account before accessing a meeting.

This means that anyone with a Zoom account can access your meeting once they're logged in.

While this doesn't restrict attendees to only IU participants, it can help restrict access to your Zoom meeting.

To enable the setting, you'll first want to go to zoom.iu.edu and log in with your IU account.

From here, in the navigation on the left side of the page, click on Meetings.

The Meetings page will load. 

Select a meeting to edit its settings. When the meeting details load, scroll to the bottom of the page and click Edit this meeting.  

In the meeting settings, scroll down to Meeting Options and check the box next to Only authenticated users can join.

Once the box is checked, "Sign into Zoom" will appear to the right of Only authenticated users can join.

Click Save to save your changes.

You can configure meeting rooms so that each participant's audio and video feeds are disabled when first joining. 

To do this, you'll first want to make sure you're logged into Zoom at IU. 

Once you're logged in, in the navigation on the left side of the page, click on Meetings.

From here, select a meeting to edit its settings.

When the meeting details load, scroll to the bottom of the page and click Edit this meeting.  


In the meeting settings, first, look for the Video section. 


To disable participant video when entering a meeting, to the right of Participant, click the radio button for Off.


Next, scroll down to Meeting Options, and check the box next to Mute participants upon entry.

Once you're done, click Save to save your changes.


In Zoom, you have the ability to enable a waiting room for each of your meeting rooms.


If you enable the waiting room, participants won't be able to join a meeting until you admit them individually. 


This option works well for smaller class sessions or meetings.

To enable the waiting room, you'll first want to make sure you're logged into Zoom at IU. 


Once you're logged in, in the navigation on the left side of the page, click on Meetings.


The Meetings page will load, and you'll want to select a meeting to edit its settings.


When the meeting details load, scroll to the bottom of the page and click Edit this meeting.  


In the Meeting Options section, check the box for Enable waiting room.


When you're done, click Save to save your changes.


Zoom provides an option to disable removed participants from re-entering meetings.


This can be helpful if an uninvited attendee arrives in your meeting and you need to remove them.


To check this setting, first, make sure you're logged into Zoom at IU.

Once you're logged in, in the navigation on the left side of the page, click on Settings.

In the Settings navigation, click on In Meeting (Basic). 


From here, scroll down until you see the setting Allow removed participants to rejoin and make sure the setting is toggled off.


If you need to toggle it off, Zoom will automatically save any changes you make.

For more information on other steps you can take to secure a Zoom meeting, go to kb.iu.edu/d/ativ.

Ensure removed participants are unable to rejoin meetings

  1. Log into https://zoom.iu.edu.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. In the "In Meeting (Basic)" section, ensure that Allow removed participants to rejoin is toggled off.